Latest News & Updates

Maha Shivratri 2022: Wear Rudraksh on the day of Maha Shivratri

Maha Shivratri 2022

Maha Shivratri 2022: Wear Rudraksh on the day of Mahashivratri, you will get freedom from the negative effects of Shani

Maha Shivratri 2022, which marks the end of winter and the beginning of summer in Hinduism, is a major religious event. It is extremely important in Hinduism’s Shaivism tradition, which worships Shiva as its primary deity.

Shiva is said to have performed the Tandava Nritya on Maha Shivaratri night, the day after creating, preserving, and destroying the universe. Believers claim that this saved the world from destruction. Maha Shivratri 2022 is said to be the day when Shiva drank poisonous negativity to protect the world, according to Hindu scholars.

“Om Namah Shivaya,” Shiva’s sacred mantra, is chanted throughout the day in Shiva temples on Maha Shivratri 2022. A special Puja is performed at homes and in temples on this auspicious day. Continue reading to learn more about the various rituals and the significance of Rudrakshas on this special day.


Lord Shiva has a distinct appearance. He is depicted with natural embellishments. His neck is wrapped in a snake, and his body is covered in tiger skin. Ganga flows from his tresses, which are adorned with a crescent moon. Holy ash covers his entire body. Moreover, he wears a rosary made from beads from the Rudraksha tree, which has drawn the attention of believers.

The Rudraksha Tree

It’s a large evergreen tree that prefers a subtropical climate to thrive. This tree is primarily found in the Himalayan foothills, the Gangetic plains, and Southeast Asian regions such as Indonesia and Papua New Guinea. In addition to their other names, Rudraksha seeds are also known as blueberry seeds because when fully ripe, their husks turn blue.

What caused Lord Shiva to cry? We’ll soon discover that these weren’t tears of sadness. But first, let’s look at what Rudra means.

Rudra: The Origin of The Word

shiv ratri 2022The aspect of Lord Shiva that manifests as the dissolver is known as Rudra. Rudra is a name with multiple meanings. Adi Shankara translates the name Rudra as “the one who makes all beings cry at the time of cosmic dissolution” in his commentary on the Vishnu Sahasranama.

Rudra is identified with the supreme consciousness (Brahman) in the Svetasvatara Upanishad. He is the Supreme Being himself, not just the destroyer. Rud means “to weep,” and Ra is the divine consciousness that pervades the entire cosmos. Divinity causes the floodgates of the eyes to open, resulting in joyful tears.

Scientific Significance of The Rudraksha

Rudra is also associated with the wind and storms in the Vedas. The wind here is not just any wind; it’s the cosmic wind. According to scientific studies, the entire cosmos is pervaded by numerous particles that are constantly moving and make up interstellar matter. This matter causes celestial bodies to be destroyed and new ones to be created. These particles are what keep the creation and recreation cycle going by connecting one object to another.

When Rudra goes on his destruction spree, he makes this howling sound, according to our Puranas. This destruction is not meant to be viewed negatively, but rather as a means of regeneration. Rudra represents the cosmic winds, the tremendous and powerful universal energy that constantly sweeps across the entire universe.

Specifically, how does Rudraksha relate to cosmic winds?

According to Indian mythology, Rudraksha is also believed to come from the Sanskrit word Rudra Akarshana, which means “to attract.” Rudraksha attracts Rudra, or cosmic particles so that they can be channelled throughout our body like an antenna. Rudraksha attracts these energies, which add vitality to our system and promote health and harmony while removing negativity.

Maha Shivratri 2022 And The Types Of Rudrakshas

shiv vivahThere are 108 minor Upanishads associated with the Sama Veda, among them is the Rudraksha Jabala Upanishad. Lord Rudra and Sage Sanatkumar are portrayed in the writings. This Upanishad contains interesting information about the Rudraksha, including a discussion of the Rudraksha’s classification.

How many different kinds of Rudrakshas are there?

Types of Rudrakshas

The Rudraksha is available in a variety of mukhis, or faces, ranging from 1 to 21. Every face has its own significance.

  • 1 Mukhi Rudraksha: The presiding deity of this Rudraksha is Lord Shiva. It awakens you to the supreme consciousness.
  • 2 Mukhi Rudraksha: The presiding deity of this Rudraksha is Ardhanarishwar, a hybrid of Lord Shiva and Shakti. It represents the Guru-shishya relationship and brings unity and harmony.
  • 3 Mukhi Rudraksha: The presiding divinity of this Rudraksha is Agni or fire. In this way, karma is more easily released especially during Maha Shivratri 2022.
  • 4 Mukhi Rudraksha: This Rudraksha is associated with Guru as the presiding deity. It aids those in search of greater knowledge.
  • 5 Mukhi Rudraksha: The presiding divinity of this Rudraksha is Kalagni Rudra. This Rudraksha brings us closer to our Higher Self by increasing our inner awareness.
  • 6 Mukhi Rudraksha: This Rudraksha is associated with Lord Karthikeya as its presiding deity. It promotes emotional stability and overall balance.
  • 7 Mukhi Rudraksha: This Rudraksha is associated with Goddess Lakshmi as its presiding deity. It creates new wealth opportunities while also improving our health.
  • 8 Mukhi Rudraksha: In this Rudraksha, Lord Ganesha represents the governing deity. A Rudraksha that helps remove obstacles during Maha Shivratri 2022.
  • 9 Mukhi Rudraksha: This Rudraksha is associated with Goddess Durga as its presiding deity. It is a symbol of strength and dynamism that aids us in gaining both worldly pleasures and liberation.
  • 10 Mukhi Rudraksha: This Rudraksha is associated with Lord Krishna as its presiding deity. It symbolizes love, peace, and compassion. This is one of the most powerful Rudrakshas, according to the scriptures.
  • 11 Mukhi Rudraksha: The Rudraksha’s presiding deity is the 11 minor Rudras. It counteracts the planets’ negative effects during Maha Shivratri 2022.
  • 12 Mukhi Rudraksha: This Rudraksha is associated with the sun as its presiding deity. It gives us radiance and power, as well as assisting us in overcoming low self-esteem and promoting self-motivation.
  • 13 Mukhi Rudraksha: The presiding deity of this Rudraksha is Kamadeva. It attracts us while also assisting in the awakening of kundalini and other powers (siddhi).
  • 14 Mukhi Rudraksha: The presiding deity of this Rudraksha is Lord Hanuman. It is a symbol of bravery and determination.

Because the 15 Mukhi Rudraksha to 21 Mukhi Rudraksha is not widely available, it is rarely used.


108 beads make up a Rudraksha mala, which has numerous benefits. Thousands of people have worn Rudraksha Mala since ancient times because it is a treasure trove of spiritual potencies. Its powers amplify during Maha Shivratri 2022

Leave a Reply